Expenses and Financial Aid

Tuition and Fees

The New Mexico Junior College Board has the statutory authority to set tuition rates in order to ensure adequate financing of the college. Upon the recommendation of the President, the Board will annually review and consider changes in tuition rates as part of the budgetary process. Careful attention and planning of tuition increases will include seeking appropriate input from student representatives, the community, staff and the Board. Tuition is the student’s share of the instruction and general expenditures that represent the cost of providing an education. In determining tuition rates, New Mexico Junior College will seek to uphold the following principles:

  • Citizens who desire a postsecondary education should have access to these educational opportunities at an affordable price.
  • Students and their families are entitled to maximum predictability relating to the cost of attending college. Increases in tuition should be gradual and moderate.
  • A reasonable and consistent share of the cost of public education should be shared by the state, local taxpayers, and the student.

Tuition and Fees

NMJC In-district Resident  
  Cost per hour for one through fifteen (15 hours)   $   40.00 per credit hour
  Maximum tuition cost for fifteen (15) hours or more  $  600.00
New Mexico Out-of-District Resident  
  Cost per hour for one through fifteen (15) hours     $   60.00 per credit hour
  Maximum tuition cost for fifteen (15) hours or more $   900.00
Out-of-state resident  
  Cost per hour for one through fifteen (15) hours $    75.00 per credit hour
  Maximum tuition cost for fifteen (15) hours or more $1,125.00
  General Usage Fee      $   20.00 per credit hour
  Internet Course   $   40.00 per course
  Interactive Television Course      $  40.00 per course
  Transcript Fee   $    5.25 per transcript
  Dishonored Check Charge     $   25.00 per check
  Housing and Meal Plan (if applicable Contact the Student Life Office
Course, Lab, Testing, and Other Fees  Some classes may have additional fees.

The New Mexico Junior College Board will take into consideration the following criteria in determining tuition rates:

  • the mission and strategic plan of the college;
  • the availability of state funding;
  • the formula tuition credit rate and other state initiatives adopted by the legislature;
  • the district’s contribution through local mill levy revenues;
  • the tuition rates of other two-year institutions;
  • the financial needs of the college, considering other revenue sources and unrestricted reserve balances; and
  • the sources of need-based financial aid available to students for offsetting tuition increases.

Adopted by the New Mexico Junior College Board on August 19, 1999.

Tuition and fees are payable as indicated in the NMJC calendar published in the NMJC Catalog and on the NMJC web site. Tuition and fees are subject to change without notice by the NMJC Board until the date when instruction for a particular semester has begun. Tuition is charged according to a student’s residency status (tuition classification) and the number of hours enrolled. Some courses may require additional fees. Courses taken through distance learning require an additional fee.


Residency status in public institutions of higher education in New Mexico is governed by Section 21-1-3 NMSA 1978 comp, and is not controlled by any other public official’s recognition of claimed legal residence. Out-of-state residency status at NMJC does not change until an in-state residency application is submitted to the NMJC Admission and Records Office and proof of established in-state residency is provided.

Students who live within the college’s district for at least 90 days immediately prior to the beginning of the semester for which they are registered are classified as residents of the district and are charged in-district tuition (if they meet in-state residency requirements). The College’s district is Lea County and includes the towns of Hobbs, Lovington, Tatum, Eunice, and Jal. For more information on residency, consult the Residency section of this catalog.

Auditing Classes

Students who audit courses (those who enroll in classes for no credit) pay the same tuition and fees as those students taking the classes for credit.

Senior Citizen Tuition Waiver

  • In-district Senior Citizen (Lea County Residents 55 years of age and older): Tuition is waived; however, the appropriate fees will be charged.
  • Out-of-District Senior Citizen (65 & older): Tuition of $5.00 per credit hour for the first six hours will be charged and all fees will apply. Hours over six will be charged the regular rate.
  • Out-of-State Senior Citizen (55 & older): Tuition and fees will be charged the normal rates with no discount.

Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE)

Students attending NMJC from states participating in the WUE program may be charged a reduced out-of-state tuition rate no more than 150% of in-state tuition. Only students from the following states may qualify: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming. For more information, please contact the Registrar.


Students who find it necessary to withdraw or drop classes during the fall or spring semester must follow the correct procedure to have their tuition and fees refunded. Note the refund schedule is based on the first day of the semester, not on the initial class meeting.

Refund Schedule for Fall and Spring:
16-week and first 8-week terms
Refund of 100% through Day 5
Refund of 0% after Day 5 Second 8-week term
Refund of 100% through Day 3
Refund of 0% after Day 3

Refund Schedule for summer:
10-week, 8-week and first 5-week terms Refund of 100% through Day 4
Refund of 0% after Day 4 Second 5-week term
Refund of 100% through Day 2
Refund of 0% after Day 2

Specific refund dates are posted in the Academic Calendar. If students drop classes within the refund period, a refund check will be processed according to the refund option selected by the student through the Nelnet Portal. Students are not officially dropped until the proper form is submitted to the Help Desk or the drop is completed through the student portal.

Note: The first instructional day for each term will be the day noted “classes begin” as specified in the academic calendar in the NMJC Catalog. A student is not registered until all tuition and fees are paid, unless the student has executed a deferred payment agreement with the Business Office. Tuition and fee rates are subject to change without notice by the New Mexico Junior College Board.

Students who receive federal Title IV financial aid and withdraw, drop or otherwise fail to complete the semester for which they are enrolled, are subject to the federal return of funds policy and may owe a refund to NMJC and the Department of Education for unearned amounts received. The return of funds calculation is based on the time a student spent in academic attendance. A prorate schedule is used to determine the amount of Title IV aid earned and the amount to be returned by the institution and the student. Students who do not begin attendance in any or all of their classes will be subject to recalculation of their awards and will be responsible for any charges owed to NMJC. Students having questions regarding the federal return of funds policy should contact the Financial Aid Office.

Tuition Refund Appeals Procedure

Students must submit the Tuition Refund Appeal form delineating individual circumstances that would warrant exception to the published refund policy to the Registrar. Students can obtain the form at the Help Desk in the Ben Alexander Student Center. A committee will study the appeal and notify the student of the decision.